Is the governor of iowa republican or democrat

How long is a governor’s term in Iowa?

List of governors of Iowa

Governor of Iowa
Incumbent Kim Reynolds since May 24, 2017
Style The Honorable
Residence Terrace Hill
Term length Four years, no term limits

Who is the governor in Iowa?

Ким Рейнольдс с 2017 г.

Who was Iowa governor in 2007?


# Name Took Office
39 Terry E. Branstad January 14, 1983
40 Tom Vilsack January 15, 1999
41 Chet Culver January 12, 2007
42 Terry E. Branstad January 14, 2011

Who was Iowa governor in 2003?

Branstad served as the 39th governor of Iowa from 1983 to 1999. After retiring from politics, he served as President of Des Moines University from 2003 to 2009. In 2010 he ran for governor again and defeated incumbent Chet Culver to become the state’s 42nd governor. He was reelected to a sixth term in 2014.

Where does the governor of Iowa live?

Learn More About Terrace Hill, the Iowa Governor’s Residence. Terrace Hill, located in Des Moines, Iowa, is the Iowa Governor’s Residence and a National Historic Landmark.

Who is Lieutenant Governor of Iowa?

Adam Gregg serves as Iowa’s 47th Lieutenant Governor. He serves as Chair of the Governor’s FOCUS Committee on Criminal Justice Reform and Co-Chair of the Governor’s Empower Rural Iowa Initiative.

How do I write to my governor?

Address your letter to “The Honorable (Full Name), Governor of (State).” The outside of your letter should be addressed with the governor’s full title. This includes their title of “The Honorable” followed by their first and last name, as well as mentioning which state or territory that they govern.

You might be interested:  Iowa tags and tax

How do I contact the governor of Iowa?

If you would prefer to speak with a member of our staff, please call our office at 515-281-5211, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. If all lines are busy or if our office is closed, please leave us a message and we will be happy to return your call as soon as possible.

How old is Kim Reynolds?

61 years (August 4, 1959)

Who was the first governor of Iowa?

Ansel Briggs (February 3, 1806 – May 5, 1881) was an American pioneer who rose from a stagecoach driver to a member of the Iowa Territorial House of Representatives (1842–1846) and the first Governor of Iowa (1846–1850).

Who was Iowa governor in 2006?

Elected Governor The Iowa gubernatorial election of 2006 took place November 7, 2006. The incumbent governor, Tom Vilsack, a Democrat, had served two terms and decided not to seek a third term. In the election, Chet Culver defeated Jim Nussle to win the governorship, by a margin of 54.4 percent to 44.1 percent.

Does Kim Reynolds live in the governor’s mansion?

At first, the Iowa government considered building a new home to serve as the Governor’s residence. Governors Terry Branstad (1983–1999, 2011–2017), Tom Vilsack (1999–2007), Chet Culver (2007–2011), and Kim Reynolds (2017–present) have occupied Terrace Hill since then.

Who is the longest serving governor in US history?

The longest-serving governor of all time was Terry Branstad of Iowa, who was elected to his sixth (non-consecutive) term in 2014. Governor Branstad resigned on May 24, 2017 to become the United States Ambassador to China. He held the title of Governor of Iowa for 22 years.

You might be interested:  Yorkie puppies for sale in iowa

Is Christine Branstad related to Terry Branstad?

Branstad was born Christine Ann Johnson in Fort Dodge, Iowa. She married her husband, future Iowa Governor Terry Branstad on June 17, 1972. The couple had three children – Eric, Allison and Marcus.

How old do you have to be to be governor of Iowa?

Be at least 17 years old (must be 18 years old by Election Day, or for Primary Elections be 18 by the General or City Election to vote or sign petitions)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *